Iraq – Draw for the 25th edition of Arabian Gulf Cup hosted by Basra


Location: Basra – Iraq

Language: Arabic

Duration: 00:03:58

Sound: natural

Source: A24 in Baghdad

Restrictions: A24 subscribers

Date: 10/25/2022


Draw for the 25th edition of Arabian Gulf Cup was held Tuesday at Grand Millennium Hotel in Basra, southern Iraq, attended by delegations of the eight participating teams (Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Qatar, Bahrain, UAE, Oman and Yemen).

The football championship will be held from 6 to19 January in Basra.

The draw process caused confrontations, mostly between Iraq and Saudi Arabia teams in the first group, and between Bahrain and Qatar teams in the second group.

The teams were divided into two groups as follows:

First Group: Iraq, Yemen, Saudi Arabia, Oman.

Second Group: Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar, UAE.

Iraq hosted Arabian Gulf Cup for the first time in 1979 in capital Baghdad, at Al Shaab International Stadium. Iraq won the title of the 5th edition.

Iraq hosts Arabian Gulf Cup once every two years. Qatar hosted the last edition in 2019, which Bahrain won the title of for the time in its history.

You might also like

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.